About St Luke’s Combined Hospices

Parajumpers sale Parajumpers sale http://www.unifem.ch canada goose sale http://www.canadagooseoutlets.be
St Luke's Hospice, Kenilworth

St Luke’s Hospice, Kenilworth

St Luke’s is a philosophy, not a place.

In keeping with the changes which have revolutionised South African society, St Luke’s sees a vital role for itself as a community based primary health care organisation, sharing the load with state-funded medical services, which are being strained to breaking point.

Our journey began when Christine Dare, an English medical student visited Cape Town in the late 1970s. She had worked with Dame Cicely Saunders, the founder of the modern-day Hospice movement*, and her visit ignited the need to cater for patients and their families facing life-threatening illnesses.

St Luke’s was founded on 13 August 1980, initially operating out of Vincent Pallotti Hospital and then Observatory, before finding a permanent home in Kenilworth in 1986.

In the early 1990s, St Luke’s took a decision to bring care to a wider community and over time opened community hospices in:

  • Athlone
  • False Bay
  • Grassy Park
  • Gugulethu
  • Khayelitsha
  • Plumstead
  • Mitchells Plain
  • West Coast

The community hospices enable us to cater for the specific needs of each community, with due regard to socio-cultural needs. Each community hospice is made up of volunteers, usually from that community, that run the services alongside our staff. These services include day hospice facilities as well as support for patients in their own homes.

Currently, we care for over 500 homecare patients every month through our satellite community day hospices located in certain areas of greater Cape Town and we have a 10-bed in-patient unit in Kenilworth and Khayelitsha, where patients can be admitted for a maximum of two weeks.

We employ highly dedicated and qualified nurses, doctors, social workers, spiritual counsellors and community health workers – most with expert palliative care training – and our volunteers assist staff members in various aspects of care and fundraising.

Our services include quality nursing support, physical, emotional, psychosocial and spiritual care and bereavement support for patients and their families.

We are a registered non-profit company in terms of the Companies Act, allowing us to raise money from the public sector by means of donations or fundraising events.

What sets St Luke’s Combined Hospices apart from almost every other organisation is the total dedication of our staff and the love we have for our work – it is something palpable, which reaches out into every aspect of the service.

Our board members

  • Ms Shona Sturgeon – Chairperson
  • Prof Craig Househam – Vice Chairperson
  • Mr Allan Scott – Treasurer
  • Ms Dianne Auld
  • Ms Gretchen Blake
  • Mr Edward Cyster
  • Mr Elton Ely
  • Ms Yvonne Petersen
  • Ms Shelley Witten
* Inspiration for the modern-day Hospice movement began in 1948 when Dame Cicely Sanders formed a friendship with one of the patients under her care whilst volunteering as a nurse. Realising there was a need for a place that could provide end-of-life care, she decided to train as a doctor to understand the issues surrounding care of the dying and in 1967 she opened St Christopher’s Hospice in London – a medical, teaching and research facility dedicated to the physical, emotional and spiritual care of the dying.
NPO Certificate

PBO CertificateBEE Certificate  VAT Certificate Tax Clearance Certificate  Company Registration Certificate Audited Financial Statement

200-125 300-115 200-105 200-310 640-911 300-075 300-320 300-360 642-998 QV_DEVELOPER_01 400-101 700-501 117-201 70-696 700-505 600-199 400-351 300-207 TE0-141 100-105 300-101 300-206 300-070 70-417 210-260 210-060 200-355 300-208 CISSP 300-135 210-065 300-209 70-243 70-480 CCA-500 2V0-621D 210-451 400-051 E05-001 1Z0-052 70-410 640-916 VMCE_V9 810-403 070-464 070-243 700-802 70-246 FCBA GPHR DEV-401 C2090-610 SY0-401 712-50 ADM-201 700-039 312-50 MA0-101 648-244 SK0-004 ASF 70-494 70-673 500-005 1Z0-060 C9560-503 640-875 N10-006 98-367 70-534 NS0-505 70-342 CHFP 070-410 640-878 1V0-603 1Z0-804 C8010-250 312-50V9 C2150-508 98-368 CLOUDF 70-411 70-461 220-901 70-488 070-341 PK0-003 E20-547 70-412 70-686 500-285 CISM 101-400 102-400 PDM_2002001060 JN0-100 642-883 CAP 070-347